Lesson 5 of 7
In Progress

Performing A Test Cut

After you’ve set up and connected your Cricut it’s a good idea to perform a test cut to check everything is working correctly. For this you’ll just need some cardstock.

Step 1: Carrying on from the previous page, you should see this screen. Click Next.

Note: If you don’t see this screen just go through the New Product Setup instructions from the previous page.

Step 2: Now follow the instructions on the screen.

Step 3: Take a blue LightGrip mat and remove the protective plastic sheet layer. (A green Standard Grip mat is also ok.)

Step 4: Place a piece of cardstock in the top left hand corner of your mat, and press it down to make sure it’s attached properly.

Click through the steps in Design Space and you will get to the ‘Prepare for Cut’ screen. Load your mat into your Cricut, under the guides, toward the rollers.

Step 5: Lightly push the mat into your Cricut and press the flashing load button. Your Cricut should draw the mat in.

Step 6: Once the Cricut has finished moving, press the Go button. Your Cricut will begin cutting the design.

Step 7: Once it’s done, press the flashing Unload button. 

Now remove the mat, turn it upside down and peel the mat away from the cardstock.

Congratulations, you’ve completed your first cut! Don’t forget to re-apply the protective plastic sheet to your mat once you’re done

Crafty Club Points

You earn points in two ways. The first way is by completing project tutorials.

  • Beginner = 10 Points
  • Intermediate = 15 Points
  • Advanced = 25 Points

Secondly, you earn Points when other Members like your posts or comments. 1 like = 1 Point. This encourages Members to produce quality content and interact with other Members in their community.

As you gain Points, you level up. Your level is shown next to your name and Avatar throughout the website.

  • Level 1 – 0 points
  • Level 2 – 15 points
  • Level 3 – 35 points
  • Level 4 – 70 points
  • Level 5 – 175 points
  • Level 6 – 300 points
  • Level 7 – 500 points
  • Level 8 – 1000 points
  • Level 9 – 1500 points
  • Level 10 – 2000 points